Parents' Area‎ > ‎

Holiday Dates


Parents are reminded that rules on holidays in term-time are still in force and the law has not changed. Barnet’s Education Welfare Team will continue to issue fixed-penalty notices (FPNs) to parents who take children out of school without leave when schools and academies request them. 

The Education Welfare Team visits some family homes when it appears that children have been taken out of school before the end of the summer term. Where parents tell us that their children are ill, an Education Welfare Officer would expect to find those children being cared for at home. If this is not the case, parents should expect to receive FPNs once their children are back in schools, unless they can explain their circumstances. 

The arguments about holidays are sometimes in the news and individual stories can create misleading pictures. Parents can best support their children and their school by abiding by the rules. Education is not free: it is paid for by taxpayers, including teachers, parents and people without children. Head teachers are required to apply rules firmly and fairly and are held to account by government. It is therefore much appreciated if all parents act responsibly and plan holidays and family visits when school is closed.

Family holidays during term time are not authorised.  When planning a family holiday, please refer to the term dates below, which you can download as a pdf.

Please let other members of the family know the dates, just in case they plan to surprise you with a holiday, and tell them it would need to be during the school holidays!



Spring term 2017 
School closed: INSET DAY Tuesday 3rd January 
Beginning of term: Wednesday 4th January 
School closed: INSET DAY Friday 10th February 
Half term: Monday 13th February – Friday 17th February 
Last day of term: Friday 31st March Summer term 2017 
School closed: INSET DAY Tuesday 18th April 
Beginning of term: Wednesday 19th April Half term: 
Monday 29th May – Friday 2nd June 
Last day of term: Friday 21st July

Summer term 2017
 School closed: INSET DAY Tuesday 18th April 
Beginning of term: Wednesday 19th April 
Half term: Monday 29th May – Friday 2nd June 
Last day of term: Friday 21st July

Autumn term 2017
School closed: INSET DAY Monday 4th & Tuesday 5th September
Beginning of term: Wednesday 6th September
Half term: Monday 23rd October – Friday 27th October
School closed: INSET DAY Monday 30th October
Last day of term: Wednesday 20th December

Spring term 2018
School closed: INSET DAY Tuesday 2nd January
Beginning of term: Wednesday 3rd January
School closed: INSET DAY Friday 9th February
Half term: Monday 12th February – Friday 16th February
Last day of term: Thursday 29th March

Summer term 2018
Beginning of term: Monday 16th April
School closed: Monday 7th May (May Day Bank Holiday)
Half term: Monday 28th May – Friday 1st June
Last day of term: Friday 20th July